• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Anemic spark - Bad coil?

Jim Lee

Jedi Trainee
First, Happy Thanksgiving to one and all. After you celebrate Thanksgiving with family and friends please ponder this.

I think I am finding out why it takes forever to start my TR3 even while spraying starting fluid into the carbs while turning it over hoping the battery and starter hang in there. Plenty of fuel. I am becoming it is an ignition spark problem as I finally removed the number 1 wire and put
a spare plug in there and layed it on the valve cover. There is a spark but it is a very anemic looking spark to me. I am no expert on healthy sparks but this looks like it is barely making the gap. No pop...no sizzle to say the least. So I have done some swapping with the ignition system. New condenser, tried three different coils all of which have worked at on time or another and as far as I know should be working now. Changed points. Set gap and reset it. Dwell is 49 degrees which sounds close to me. I have taken apart the distrib to clean up the advance weights and springs. Put it back together being as careful as I can be with the wire connections. Ground wire in distrib given extra attention. Here is my first question, finally, if you look at the jpg file I have attached you see both the red wire coming from the coil and the black wire from the condenser connected together at the top of the points post. I am wondering if they should be seperated in that one should be at the top of the post (but underneath the plastic
deal) and the other below, on top of the other plastic thing. Why else would they go to so much trouble by putting
those plastic things at the top and the bottom?