• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Now mine won't start!

crya

Hey all,
I'm a newbie and definitely not a mechanic. My 64 BJ 8 has been sitting about three months and I can't get the thing to turn over. I've got power and she cranks, just no fire. I mean, it ran great when I last drove her; she's just been sitting. Any tips on bringing her back to life given that I'm no mechanic. I really don't want to load her up and try and find a mechanic. I'm in Napa, CA and there doesn't seem to be a lot of folks in my neck of the woods able to work on something like this. Sorry this post is nothing new!

Chris

Dave Russell

Yoda - R.I.P
Gold
Not a good place to start learning, but it could be worse.

When you say it cranks but no fire, do you mean that the plugs are not firing or that the engine isn't running. Remove a spark plug, attach it to it's wire, place the shell of the plug against a metal ground, have someone crank the starter, & see if a spart jumps across the plug gap. If it does, you have eliminated several possible problems.

Turn the ignition switch on & listen for the electric fuel pump ticking. if you hear ticking, the pump is working. If no ticking, mildly tap the pump with a hammer handle & see if it starts to tick. The fuel pump is located in front of the rear axle.

If the pump ticks, then stops soon but still no start, the carburetor floats might be stuck shut. It should normally take about 5 - 10 seconds of pumping for the pump to fill empty float bowls. Lightly tap on the tops of the carb float chambers & see if the pump now fills the chambers & then stops. Make sure that fuel doesn't overflow the chambers.