• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

An Extra Wire... Please Help!!

NardisCNC

Hi, I'm a newbie here and to MG's in general. I just bought a 66 Midget a few weeks ago. And already I'm stumped having to ask kindly for assistance from the more knowledgeable minds on this forum.

Yesterday, I had to take off my starter to free up and lubricate the little gear that didn't want to engage. After fixing it and putting the starter back on. I found a single loose wire, and I don't know if it was attached or not before. Although I don't think it was attached. I don't know if I may have accidentally pulled it off.

My car (66 Midget) has been switched over to the Negative Ground system, and an Alternator has been installed in place of the generator. Currently the Alternator has 3 terminals on it, and only 1 wire coming off of it. Is that normal? There wouldn't be 2 wires would there?

I'm assuming that wire was from the Generator before, and is not being used now. Could that be right?

Also, I read online somewhere that 1-wire alternators don't charge until they are revved up. Is this correct? That might also explain why it didn't charge the battery at all after jumping that car and letting it idle for 10-15 mins. (I accidentally left the lights on earlier in the day).