• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

92 XJS Air Conditioning Questions

PK1973

Freshman Member
Please bear with me as I am new to the XJS and I am translating from my mechanic. The problem I am having is as follows:

The heater core was replaced recently after initial purchase. On replacement the air conditioner was only blowing from the demisting vents at the top of the dash. Vent control having no effect on air direction. Upon testing my mechanic found good vacuum presure, but flaps werent opening all the way to deflect air. Motors were swapped demister for center, this resulted in air coming from center but not demister working that way until turned off. When restarting air was not coming from either outlets and no vacuum. The solenoid is only producing 5-7 volts. We are both reading over Kirby's documents as well as Jaguar repair manuals, however need additional guidance.

Questions we have are:
What should voltage be at solenoid be carrying? 12volts?
By swaping motors with one working partially is the original center motor bad/since its not working in the position of the demister?
Could the problem be with one of the computer control units which seem to be everywhere on the XJS? If so which?
Any other suggestions as to how/what to trouble shoot?

Thanks in advance

jessebogan

Jedi Knight