• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Turning brake drums

Rob Glasgow

Jedi Knight
Country flag
I asked a local brake shop if they could turn the rear brake drums on my BT7. He said he could if he could find the specs. I understand there may not be any specs for these drums or a least that's what I've read. If so, what is the solution? These drums have never been turned since new so there should be enough metal to turn them at least once. Any ideas?

RAC68

Darth Vader
Hi Rob,

There is no specification that I know of, but then, I am no expert. The often misunderstood and misdiagnosed issue of Scuttle Shake has finally fallen to the general consensus of being the result of very badly imbalanced brake drums. This condition has plagued many of us for half a century and I would suggest this to be a good time for you to address both conditions (balancing and cutting your drums). I would suggest you address this situation and call Hendrix (https://www.hendrixwirewheel.com/) if you can't find someone locally for advice. Although this is not an inexpensive service, from my experience it is a condition that should be addressed if you intend to enjoy driving your Healey.

Good luck,
Ray(64BJ8P1)

Country flag
I asked a local brake shop if they could turn the rear brake drums on my BT7. He said he could if he could find the specs. I understand there may not be any specs for these drums or a least that's what I've read. If so, what is the solution? These drums have never been turned since new so there should be enough metal to turn them at least once. Any ideas?

Rob,