• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Tuning up a 1275

jehuie

Country flag
My Morris Minor has a 1275 in it. It's runs pretty good but smells fairly strongly of gasoline when it's running. I'm a relative novice and thought I'd just ask here about where to start.

I'm thinking the obvious is to check the spark plugs and then to find online directions for tuning up the carbs. Is it likely that something is broken with the carbs though? Like maybe the float not working causing fuel to overflow? I don't see evidence of leaking but that smell....

Boink

Yoda
Bronze
Country flag
As you state, sometimes such fuel smell is due to carb float-bowl overflow (due to the floats, level adjustment or needle-valves).

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
Check at the undersides of the carbs for wet gas. If there's no evident dripping, I'd start looking at the fuel lines. Any of the connections where steel lines meet rubber/flex lines. Clamps etc. for weeping. Also the top fo the fuel tank for rust-through, pinholes or connections there.

NutmegCT

Great Pumpkin
Gold
Figuring you haven't owned the MM for long, first thing I'd check would be drips of gas below the carbs and bowls.
Tom M.

OP
jehuie

jehuie

Country flag