• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Stuck, Rusted Fastner {Bolt/Nut} removal

AweMan

Jedi Knight
Stuck, Rusted Fastner {Bolt/Nut} removal

Hi my name is Kerry I have been a welder for many yesars, In the course of those years I have removed many stuck/rusted fastners from various items from castings to sheetmetal. During the course of browsing this forum I have seen many articles on how to`s for removing stuck/rusted bolts and nuts.
The first thing I will say is try a good quality penetrating oil let it stand for a while so it can do it`s job then try to remove the fastner. If possible and accessable use a wire brush to clean the threads that are protruding out of the nut on the bolt to be removed.
If this method fails:
A sharp blow with a hammer and punch will sometimes loosen up any rust/corrosion preventing the nut or bolt from turning. Use you own judgement on how hard you can strike the affected fastner without damaging the surrounding area on bolts you want to strike them directly on the head, a flat blow is essential. With nuts strike them on the flats all sides if possible again wirebrush any protruding threads you can access first and foremost.
If this method fails:
Here I will discuss the use of heat