• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Has anyone used the Oberg Engine Tilt Lift??

NardisCNC

I need to invest in an engine hoist tilt. Looks like the Oberg is well designed. Has anyone used one? How does it compare to the screw-type tilts? Any other recommendations?

losmorob

Jedi Hopeful
Do you have a local Harbor freight? Their screw type is good for the ocassional pull.

If I was doing it for a living, I might look elsewhere.

JPSmit

Staff member
Silver
Country flag
losmorob said:
Do you have a local Harbor freight? Their screw type is good for the ocassional pull.

If I was doing it for a living, I might look elsewhere.

I have the HF one - works fine for all I need

lesingepsycho

Jedi Warrior
I used a screw type on my last engine go-around and I can't hardly believe I've been doing it all these years without one. Best $50.00 I ever spent. I didn't go with HF though, I went with a major auto parts supplier. I think the brand name is "Performance Tool". I figured the extra couple bucks was cheap insurance over HF.

JACK

jvandyke

Luke Skywalker
I have the HF one. I thought it was a good leveller but not so good at tilting. Does that make sense? A lot better than nothing (I'd imagine, I've only pulled one motor one time so what do I know). Next time I pull the motor I'm going to try to have the rear of car jacked up as high as I dare.

OP
NardisCNC

NardisCNC

jvandyke said:
I have the HF one. I thought it was a good leveler but not so good at tilting.