• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Ammeter vs. Voltmeter

Editor_Reid

Staff member
Platinum
Country flag
DISCLAIMER: I am no mechanic! (Or electrician.)

Speaking with an electrician friend the other day he told me that he prefers voltmeters over ammeters (for automotive installation) because all of the car's power has to pass through an ammeter, exposing the entire electrical system to shorts and other problems. This didn't ring a bell with me, but I was not equipped to differ.

Just wanted to ask for comments and experiences from those who have installed voltmeters or ammeters in their Healeys; which? why? problems?

Thanks.

dklawson

Yoda
This is not a question unique to Healeys, it applies to all vehicles.

Your friend is correct that all of the current from the alternator/generator needs to pass through the ammeter to give you an indication of the charging system condition. This dictates that those heavy gauge wires pass through the firewall and along the back of the dash. (The obvious exception is the power to the starter motor which never passes through the gauge).

By comparison, the volt meter requires only a simple ground and "hot" connection using light gauge wires. Current flow through the gauge is only what is required to move the needle/pointer. The volt meter can tell you whether or not the generator/alternator is working and that's all you really need to know.

Ammeters may look cool as they swing from + to - in the direction of current flow, and they may look "period correct" for a car which only has a 22 Amp Lucas generator, but they still aren't that safe. They certainly aren't the thing to use if you've moved up to an alternator.

Keoke