• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Yet another Newbie

BDavis

Freshman Member
Hello forum...
I'm a newbie and a Very Old MG fan. And of course have a question. I have a '71 MGB roadster but would prefer the early (65-67) dash. Would anyone know (or have made this conversion) if the dash from the '67 will bolt straight up to the '71 body? (without mods)
Thanks, Bill

Frazier

I too have a '71 Roadster, but have not considered the mod, so don't have an answer. But you've come to the right place. There is a vast amount of knowledge about the marque here, and you will have an answer soon. Welcome to the forum.

Frazier

Steve

Staff member
Platinum
Country flag
Hi Bill, welcome to the BCF!!!! Glad to have you on board. I wish that I could answer your question but I'm afraid I'm not certain. However, the old-style dash was fitted to home-market MGBs and certain export markets except for the USA until 1971, so I would imagine that it could be done with a minimum of fuss.

Jim 67B

Jedi Hopeful
BDavis
Welcome. The answer to your question is NO. The 67 and older MGB's have a different steering wheel. The dash from the windshield to the face of the dash is also different. You would need to do alot of metal work and change steering wheels to fit a metal dash. The size of the speedo and tach is also different. The dash from a 73-76 with glove box and fresh air vents would fit your car.

Steve_S

Yoda
This conversion has been done but it's a lot of work. There is someone in Australia offering a kit. I don't remember his name but perhaps someone else here will.

OP
B

BDavis

Freshman Member
Well, drat!