• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

T-Series TD Door Hinges: just what is the difference between right and left?

parkerstudio

Freshman Member
Hi Folks:
A newbie here. I would like to know just what the difference between the right and left door hinges on the MG TD is? Are they the same castings and the hinge pins are just put in from different sides, or are their shapes more complicated than that? Has anyone ever compared sets right and left? The reason I'm asking is because I'm rebuilding a basket case TD, which only has its driver's side, or left hinges and I'm looking for a pair of rights. When shopping for rights, I won't be able to tell rights from lefts otherwise. Thanks in advance!

Grantura_MKI

Darth Vader
Gold
Silver
Country flag
Welcome,
if you are doing coach work, purchase a new set. It is a critical that the door and timbers are right.
Best to start with new.

PAUL161

Great Pumpkin
Silver
Country flag
The top and bottom hinges are different! Bottom hinges has two screw holes, top has three. Right and left is determined by which way the pin is installed. PJ

PAUL161

Great Pumpkin
Silver
Country flag