• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Sleeving of Master Cylinders, who??

Brosky

Great Pumpkin
Who is the best for this work?

I have a spare brake and clutch unit that I want to have done, just to keep on the shelf after I change out my complete brake system this fall.

I will be switching the brakes over to Silicone fluid, as I did previously with the clutch replacement system.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
In that case you probably don't want to use Apple.

Here's one place, although I have no experience with them myself.
https://www.whitepost.com/

G

TR3driver said:
In that case you probably don't want to use Apple.

Apple sleeved my clutch master and did a great job. Why would he not want to use them?

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
TR6BILL said:
Apple sleeved my clutch master and did a great job. Why would he not want to use them?
They won't honor their 1yr warranty if you use silicone fluid; and Paul said he was going to use silicone.

"rebuilt brake cylinders should be used with fluid originally approved for the application "
https://www.applehydraulics.com/ordering.htm

Even if I could buy Girling brake fluid, I wouldn't want to. It's like driving with a gun held to your expensive paint job.

Don't recall who it was now, but there was an absolutely stunning TR4 at Triumphest a few years back. With the paint under the MC and down the firewall wrinkled and discolored from a fresh fluid leak.

MGTF1250Dave

Jedi Knight
Silver
Country flag
Aloha Paul,