• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Non adjustable steering wheel removal

Pete3000

Country flag
Hi all! I am a newbie and just bought a 62 3000 MK11 BT7. Car has been partially restored and I am trying to remove Steering Wheel. The wheel is a non-adjustable type. I have the horn push, turn signal assy with wiring and stator tube completely removed. Then I was able to remove large 1-1/2 in. nut and cancelling arm. Now the problem.... tapped back of wheel and it freed itself .... but only for about a half inch. Now the wheel itself is moving up and down on what I believe is the inner column. It seems to hit a stop because when pulling and pushing the wheel is very free but will NOT come any further. There is no circlip evident. I cannot see any way to free it. I do not see what it could be hitting up against.Any help would be appreciated. I am going crazy!! Do I need to force it with a puller? Thanks.

Keoke

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
HI Pete, I suggest that you get a wheel puller and see if you can get it over the obstacle.---Fwiw---Keoke

BlueRidge1

Jedi Warrior
Pete, Do like Keoke say's, it should come off easy with a puller at this point. Anyone out there know of a source for the tunsignal indicater knob that is on the non ajustable steering wheels? I would like to replace mine as it is pretty ragged looking. Thanks Bob 61 - 62 mk11

Dave Russell

Yoda - R.I.P
Gold
Hi Pete,