• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Mysterious knocking?

karls59tr

Obi Wan
Bronze
Country flag
I'm hearing a knocking sound coming from the motor. The motor is running fine and drives no problem. I thought it might be a rod knock? I put a stethascope all over the motor but do not hear this knock? Put the scope on the water pump but it's fine. What els could be loose. Very disconceting. I don't think I've ever changed the motor mounts on the car and I've been driving it for 20 years. Would that cause a knock?

mezy

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
I would think bad motor mounts would be more of a vibration than a knock.
I find that a piece of tubing like a garden hose help to pinpoint strange noises,
place it to the ear and follow where it sounds loudest. Works better than a stethescope.

OP
K

karls59tr

Obi Wan
Bronze
Country flag
I would think bad motor mounts would be more of a vibration than a knock.
I find that a piece of tubing like a garden hose help to pinpoint strange noises,
place it to the ear and follow where it sounds loudest. Works better than a stethescope.
I'm beginning to think that maybe it's the exhaust pipe that goes thru the cruciform under the car that is making the knocking noise? Maybe a clamp let go/ I'll have to get underneath to check it out.

TR Tom

Freshman Member
Country flag
I’m having the same problem. Mine also runs fine, but in the back of my mind I’m thinking I have a ticking time bomb.