• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Float & needle adjustment on SU HS6 - slightly OT

tdskip

Yoda
Country flag
Hi guys - this is my first time rebuild a set of HS6 carbs and I have two questions I could use some help on.

1) I'm wondering what float bowl height adjustment, if any, is correct or necessary.

2) I'm also concerned that the needle assembly is incorrect. The needle that came with the carbs is on the left, and it the "pin" in the bottom of it moves and appears to allow for better articulation of the gas intake. The new Viton needle from APT Fast has a mushroom bottom to it and is fixed, and does not have any articulation.

BUT (and here is the slightly OT bit) these HS6 are going on the Volvo 122s, and the intake is an upward cast. When the float is held at the same angle as when mounted on the car it appears to correctly. So as long as the needle moves freely in the as-mounted angle I should be OK - right?

Any coaching on either #1 or #2 for me?

DSCN3647.jpg

dklawson

Yoda
You own a 122S? I'm envious. I keep watching for an 1800 (any model 1800) to become available near me. Hen's teeth.

I have used both types of needles in HS2s and HS4s. The one on the left should have a bit of "spring action" with that small button. I have not had problems with either type. With plastic floats you have to set the level using fiber washers while earlier floats allowed you to bend the tabs to get the right level.