• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Beginning restoration, advice please

Patti59

Freshman Member
Newbie here. My Bugeye is about stripped and ready for blasting. I have been researching this forum and other sites to help me decide what I want to do. Oh, all the wealth of information out there!! I finally have a plan. I have a good 1275 engine and ribbed transmission to install. I will do a negative earth conversion, front disc brake conversion, and maybe change the gear ratio to 3.7 or 3.9.

Any advice or recommendations as to what other things I need to consider or do? I will get Gerard to rebuild master cylinder, but I need to find disc brake setup to swap. No British cars in salvage yards around here. Ebay has them occasionally, but what would be a good price? Same question about the rear differential too?

What model # speedometer and tach do I need? I have the working originals, but I don't think they are the right ones for my plan.

Iris blue or cherry red? Decisions, decisions!!

Pat

smaceng

Jedi Knight
Country flag
Hi Pat,
Welcome to the club!