• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Newbie Question regarding Girling rear brake cylinder

Andrews

Freshman Member
Hello All,

I am brand new to Triumph ownership (And to be honest, car maintenance as well) and am working on the Girling rear brakes of my TR3A. I could feel that the car was having a stuck brake or brakes so I got it onto jack stands and determined that the driver's side rear wheel was locked... The rear brake cylinder piston seemed to be jammed (I even saw a little bit of corrosion in the bore along the piston head). I assumed the cylinder was the problem.

I ordered a new drum, cylinder, brake adjuster, flexible hoses and shoes and springs (I had everything apart anyway). However the pistons in the new cylinders don't move freely as I thought they would by hand... I don't want to rebuild the entire system, just to find that I haven't addressed the actual problem.

Question is how freely should the pistons move in the wheel cylinder? Or can they only be accurately tested with hydraulic pressure applied?

I appreciate the patience with my elementary questions!

TRopic6

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
Hi Andrews,