• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Inoperative Fuel Gauge

Fanch00

Freshman Member
Country flag
Hello everyone,

The fuel gauge on my BT7 is not working. I have to monitor the mileage to know when to refill, at the risk of getting it wrong and running out of gas.

I have limited technical knowledge but am keen to try to fix it. Where should I start?

Madflyer

Jedi Knight
Country flag
First does it read any fuel. ?? and does it move at any point? most time the float goes bad with todays gas and sinks. Also any moisture can rust the pivot sticking it at a fixed point. The gauge works by reading ohm to ground and is rarely the problem. Getting acc. to tank and replacing float assy. is most likely the fix.

BoyRacer

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
My fuel gage is usually correct. Except for that time I ran out of gas but the gage read one-quarter tank. I keep a wooden dowel in the trunk to use in those times when the gage reads low or when I have that "feeling". And, it confirmed I was out of gas that time that the gage say 1/4 full.

OP
Fanch00

Fanch00

Freshman Member
Country flag