• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A Thrust washer issue

bammons

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
Finally got my motor back from the machine shop and immediately ran into a problem. Disclaimer - this is my first build. I determined that I would require oversize +.005 thrust washers on one side of the center main bearing before I took it to the machine shop. Now that I am trying to install the crankshaft I find that if I install std thrust washers front and rear I get .007 clearance (or out of spec should be .004-.006). If I install the +.005 oversize on the rear then I of course get .002 or too little clearance. What should I do? I am using a digital brand new HF indicator and am slightly tapping the crank with a hammer and a block of wood to get it to move back and forth. Bruce

OP
B

bammons

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
Ok I did some more work and made more sure the digital dial was as straight to the line of the crankshaft as I could get it. The flexible link on the magnectic base makes that harder than it sounds. Then I did try some more simply pulling by hand instead of using the block of wood and a hammer. So depending on how hard I pull I can get up to a .010 difference. I'm confused. How hard should I be pulling?

bobhustead

Gold
Country flag