• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Ive searched/cant find thread master cylinder BE

jaegzie

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag
I have a master cylinder from my BE and one from a 63 or 64 sprite. The one from the BE the pedals move but do not pump fluid, the one from the 63 appears to be in much beeter shape on the outside but the pedals wont budge. The brake pedal moves about an inch that is it.

2 questions:

Should I use the MC from the 64 sprite because the car had disk brakes which i put on my BE(my BE disk brakes came from a 74)?

What should I look for to see what is locking up the pedals?

TIA

jvandyke

Luke Skywalker
I think the '64 Sprite would be a dual 3/4" bore which is weird, most are 7/8". My '63 Midget had a 3/4" (first year for front disc) but it was too pitted to be useful without sending out for re-sleeve. I ended up with a 7/8" bore from an later car with bolts right in and works fine just changes the pedal feel a bit. I would suggest rebuilding your 3/4" one with new seals ($13 or so) but as you do it (and they are super easy to do) check the walls of the bore for pitting, you can hone it lightly but if there is scoring or pitting in there it will either not produce the pressure or chew up the seals quickly or both.
I'd imagine the reason why the '64 won't move the pedal much is because it's cruddy inside, thus the rebuild but also potential it has damaged bore walls.

jvandyke

Luke Skywalker