• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

I wondered where all that brake fluid went!

jjbunn

Jedi Knight
I have a leaky master cylinder, and I'm not sure whether it is worth putting new seals in, or just buying a new one. The master on my MGB leaked, and it was major game getting it apart to replace the seals, and it wasn't a success even after I'd gone to the trouble of doing it.

Are the TR6 master cylinders easy to get apart to replace seals, or should I just buy new?

In the brake booster, the hole where the master cylinder attaches was filled with brake fluid, and looked very grungy. Is the leak likely to have damaged the internals of the booster? Is there a way of testing the booster while it's off the car?

Thanks, as always, for input.

Banjo

Yoda
Country flag
TR6 brake masters are fairly straight forward. the biggest thing is the 1/2" allen needed to remove the valve just below where the reservoir screws on. I have used the head of a 1/2" bolt before, but I've also broken same said bolt trying to get the valve out. I now have the allen socket, and it's a ton easier, but that's the only thing I've ever used that $30 snap-on socket for, and I don't rebuild a lot of TR6 masters anymore.
It's likley that the brake fluid has not been any help to the rubber diaphgram in the booster Usually testing is just by pedal feel, and check for vacuume leaks.
Best of luck.

Brosky

Great Pumpkin
Julian, please take this in the spirit that it was intended.