• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Healey 3000 Mk1 engine Vs Wolseley 6/110

Cooperman

Hi - I'm fairly new to the Healey scene having recently acquired a 59 BT7. Its not been on the road since 1971 so in the main very original and untouched although definitely shabby chic..... My plan is to "preserve" it as a barn find car rather than restore it but it will be needing a full mechanical overhaul. Most of which is now done but the engine has just come out and being stripped. The short engine has been transplanted from a Wolseley 6/110 (29W engine No) at some point but it still has the original 3000 head, gearbox, carbs etc fitted) and hence my following questions.

1) What parts in the short engine will be different to the MK1 3000?
2) How would i identify the cam to be 3000 Vs 6/110 or are they the same?

Thanks

DerekJ

Luke Skywalker
Country flag
Hi, welcome to the forum.