• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Brake system flush

angelfj1

Yoda
Country flag
This week I plan to change over the TR-250 from Castrol GT LMA to Silicone brake fluid. I have a new master and rear wheel cylinders, but do not have new pistons/seals for the calipers. Since I will be disconnecting the lines and replacing most of the hydraulics, is it still necessary to flush the lines? if, so what is the preferred fluid?

Thanks in advance.

lotuslover

I would flush it all out with clean silicone fluid and lots of it. It doesn't make sense to leave any of the old fluid in there to contaminate the silicone fluid, kind of defeats the purpose of changing over.

G

Yes, you must flush it out... NO you will NOT get all the glycol fluid out... and NO, british rubber components do NOT have elastometer compatibility with Silicone fluid... AND if the rear seal of the M/Cyl. fails/leaks, and the booster sucks fluid through it into the vacuum of the intake, you can kiss the engine Bye-Bye! with silicone becoming an abrasive upon burning inside the combustion chamber.... KEEP the Castrol in it and flush every 1-2 years!

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
mehheh... Sherman hits it outta th' park. :laugh:

Do NOT bother to go "silicone".

Flush it with LMA every year or so, eschew that "advanced" crap!

The alternative is to get all new calipers and cylinders, flush the system, dump the M/C for a new or rebuild, all too much!!!

Castrol LMA is CHEAP!! Th' time to flush it once every year or so is the same.

..just another opinion. :laugh:

G

I purchase Castrol LMA in quarts by the case! (No, I do not drink it! LOL)

Steve_S

Yoda