• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Anybody used....

lesingepsycho

Jedi Warrior
...the Duplicolor Paint Shop System. It's a lacquer based, no mix, ready to use, primer-base-clear paint setup that I've seen at the local parts house and on TV.

I'm a professional woodworker and I've used LOTS of nitrocellulose lacquer on my woodworking projects and lacquer is definitely my favorite finish for woodworking because I can lay it on smooth, "burn-in" the layers and buff it out to a true mirror finish.

I was considering this 'lacquer based' paint system for the Midget and I was curious if anyone had any experience or information about it; i.e. actual ease of use, durability, end look. I'm trying to sell the Midget and I'm not getting anybody to so much as <span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">look</span></span> at the car so long as it's in primer. It doesn't need to be show quality, but good enough to not turn away a potential buyer.

Finally, i'm a little bit concerned about "ghosting" or "clouding" that occurs when you shoot lacquer in a cold environment. I can usually bring my woodworking pieces into the spray booth at work, but it's meant only for furniture and can't handle a car which means I'm stuck trying to shoot in my waytoosmall unheated garage in the winter. Anyone have any experience there? I know Rick had a thread recently about doing work with rattle cans and hair dryers. I'm wondering if anyone has any advice there.

Thanks,

JACK

Jim_Gruber

Yoda
Country flag