• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Vin number question

axel1948

Freshman Member
Hello all,
I'm a newbie to this excellent forum(glad I found it!), and have a question concerning an Austin Healey BJ8 that I inherited from my Father. This vehicle has always been registered as a 1967 model that my Father purchased new in 1967. The car has always been insured with Hagerty, and just for the heck of it I decided to use their valuation tool to see if I had enough coverage on it. When I typed in the Vin number however, the car came up as a 1966 model-not a 1967. I am just wondering if this is somewhat common or not. I checked the Vin number on the firewall, and it agrees with all of my paperwork. Would appreciate any input. Thanks much! Phil

Jim 58 BN6

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
Hi Phil,

I think back in the day, this was a common practice. The dealers titled the cars the year they were sold, rather than when they were built. I have both a '68 TR4A (67 was the "last" year of the 4A), and a '65 TR4 that was built in 64 according to its numbers. These cars didn't change much from year-to-year, so it probably wasn't an issue. Curiously, my BN6 is titled as a '58, but was built in March of '59. Go figure that out! Enjoy your new car! Jim

Last edited:

bighealeysource

Luke Skywalker
Bronze
Country flag