• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Brakes Not Releasing

Jerry

Darth Vader
Gold
Country flag
I have a new master cylinder on a 64 BJ8 and I think it has issues. Worked fine, the car only has 150 miles on it. But now the front disc won't completely release. Tight enough so you can't push the car. I am thinking that the Master cylinder is not releasing since both fronts are binding. I released the pedal from the master but the front disks did not release. I am thinking that the release hole in the master has a bit a debris? All the brake parts on the car are new so I don't know if that can be the problem.
Any ideas?

John Turney

Yoda
Silver
Country flag
Did you change the pushrod from the pedal to MC? I had one that would not allow the MC to completely retract and open the port to the reservoir.

red57

Jedi Knight
Country flag
I've never had a BJ8 but I think they were all boosted from about '63 onwards? Is it possible for the booster to not release completely?

OP
J

Jerry

Darth Vader
Gold
Country flag
Calipers, hoses and brake pipes are new. It is possible for the brake booster to get stuck. This unit was rebuilt in Palo Alto. I don't know how to test the booster. Ideas?

mezy

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
You could try cracking the front pipe at the master, if that releases the front brakes, your looking master end. If brakes still holding your looking pipes or calipers

OP
J

Jerry

Darth Vader
Gold
Country flag