• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

MGB BRAKE VALVE ?

OP
J

jjroth63

Country flag
Hi,

I have owned my 1966 B for two weeks, I am not a mechanic. I have never worked on cars. I am having fun driving the car, I have learned that sun screen lotion is important for anyone driving a convertible in the summer. I have also learned that my wife can spot a drop of oil before it hits the garage floor.

So the rumors of early MGBs constantly weeping fluids is a true statement for my car. I have a piece of cardboard under the car and it is saturated with fluid.

Today's question is, what is this?

Can the leak be stopped?

Why is there an electrical terminal in the center.

My car is probably a Frankenstein, so the parts might not be 1966 specific.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

John
BRAKE VALVE.jpgBRAKE CYLINDER.jpg

mezy

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
The switch in the middle of the block with pipes is a pressure opperated brakelight switch, which judging by the pickled painwork around it has been leaking for some time, This needs replacing ASAP before you loose too much brake fluid and no Brakes
The switch fitted to the black cover with some pigeon poop type welding is someones Heath Robinsons attemp at making the brake light switch mechanicle because the hydraulic one has failed.

OP
J