• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A Beginning Cyl Head Removal - Questions

RJS

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
Hi

I discovered I have a broken cylinder head stud. So, even though I have never done this before, the head is coming off. I'll plan to take it slowly and hope to lean on you guys and gals for my questions. Started today and here today's questions:
  1. When I removed one of the pushrods, one of the tappets flipped and is lying on its side. How big of a deal is this? Can I correct it after the head is off the block? For future reference, is there a way to correct this with the head still on - any tricks?
  2. I drained the anti-freeze from the lower radiator hose. Will that be sufficient to keep anti-freeze from pouring all over when I remove the head? If not, any other suggestions?
  3. Should I attempt to remove the intake and exhaust manifolds together as a unit, or separate them and remove the intake manifold first?
  4. Is it OK to remove the head nuts with an impact wrench? I've been soaking them for two weeks and lightly tested them with a breaker bar today and they're really on there.