• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

1962 Healey 3000 Mark II Steering Box

conor62

Freshman Member
Country flag
Hello everyone,

I'm new to BCF. I have been the proud owner of a MkII BT7 for almost ten years. It was lovingly restored by its former owner who has sadly since passed away, but I got to enjoy (and marvel at) the beautiful results of his second level zero restoration.

With Covid-19 finally doing what my wife couldn't (keep me home from work) I took the covers off, got the car started (first time) and bled the clutch (gearbox was snatching in first and second). I felt that now was the time to fit the replacement Steering Box I purchased from AH Spares in early 2019 and kept putting off. I've had good success (with patience) and am down to the second last step, namely, removing the splined shaft from the steering arm. It wont budge (despite copious amounts of WD40) and I've no earthly how the workshop manual 'special tool' could even fit on the arm - never mind use it without the car being on a hoist.

Any suggestions or tips would be welcome.

Thanks.

Conor (Ireland)​

Last edited by a moderator:

red57

Jedi Knight
Country flag
Hi Conor,

I'll take a stab at it. My experience is with left hand drive and I'm not sure if right hand drive would work the same in reverse or not.