• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

1/4 elliptic ride height

Hileatus

Freshman Member
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to the forum with a 1959 Bugeye. Car has been restored and has O.E. springs but when driven bottoms out very easily. I know the shocks are soft and I will have Peter C. look at them. My question is: What should the approximate clearance be between the top of the rear bump stop and the chassis plate? I can do the finger test between the tire and top of the wheel arch (I get 1 1/2 fingers in there) but that's dependent upon the tire profile I would think. I'm trying to come up with a standard that myself and others may use. If anyone who has a car with original rear springs and appropriate ride height (say about 2 fingers) would like to measure the distance between bump stop and plate, I (and others) would appreciate it. I apologize if this has already been done (tell me where to look if it has). Thanks in advance.

Jim_Gruber

Yoda
Country flag