• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Spitfire Spitfire 1500 Cam timing

Morris

Yoda
Okay I lied. It's really a Midget 1500.

I have a stock cam, and I just want to make sure it is timed correctly.

What I have done so far:

I have aligned the marks on the cam and crank and installed the chain. I have used a dial indicator to find TDC. My dial indicator is now following the intake lifter for #1 cylinder. I have a degree wheel on my crank. What I am having a hard time understanding is how to read my degree wheel to determine if my cam is aligned properly.

Here are the numbers I have for my stock 1500 cam (from Paul Tegler's site).

Lobe centers 112°
Intake timeing 18°-58°
Seat duration 247°
.05" duration 205°

How do I translate my degree wheel readings so that they relate to these numbers.

Lemme throw this out: Starting from TDC before the intake stroke, I take a degree wheel reading when my tappet reaches .05" lift; I take another reading when it returns to .05" lift. I add these two readings then divede by 2, and if everything is aligned correctly, the sum should be 205°. Is that right.

If so, what numbers would I look for if I wanted to advance my cam timing by 2°.

Thanks.

Dave Russell

Yoda - R.I.P
Gold
Morris said:
Here are the numbers I have for my stock 1500 cam (from Paul Tegler's site).
Lobe centers 112°
Intake timeing 18°-58°
Seat duration 247°
.05" duration 205°
How do I translate my degree wheel readings so that they relate to these numbers.