• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Heat treat questions

John Loftus

Darth Vader
The threads on the gas tank hold down strap and seat frame pivot bolts had worn so I gas welded the damaged areas and then used a die to cut new threads (see images below). Should I heat treat the threads and if so what is the procedure? I recall heating things red hot and quenching in oil a few times back in junior high shop class but that was a few too many beers ago. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Cheers,
John
before.jpg
welded.jpg
after.jpg

Cutlass

Jedi Warrior
I'm no expert, but it may well be that whatever you do, it won't make much difference. The welding rod you used is probably not even close to the same composition as the bolt. What you have left of the new material after cutting the threads is mighty small. If you got the bolts red hot to weld, then let air cool, that may be annealed enough to relieve brittleness. Oil quenching may induce unintended brittleness. The good news is that if you drive carefully enough, there will never be enough stress on those threads to test their strength.

dklawson

Yoda
If you were able to run a die over the welded areas they were relatively annealed as Cutlass suggested.

What caused the damage to the threads in the first place? Was it rust related or from fretting around in an oversized hole?

If you have an unmolested original bolt you can test it with a file to see if the originals were hardened. I doubt they were particularly hard but the file test would give you an indication if you need to do any heat treating or if you can use the repaired parts in their annealed state.

OP
John Loftus

John Loftus

Darth Vader