• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Generator not working, took apart, what's next?

BrandonBJ8

Jedi Trainee
After killing 2 batteries, I knew my generator had some issues. I tested it and at around 1000rpms, it was getting around 4-6volts with a couple random quick spikes 10-20. I've taken the generator apart and am not exactly sure what I need to do next. Everything "looks" okay to me, but this is my first time taking apart a generator. I've attached 2 pictures, would be great to get some advice on what to test and how to test it to determine what I need to do to get it working. (Plan to do alternator in the future, but want to get this working for now.)

Thanks!

Attachments

• 26956.jpg
    26956.jpg
    39 KB · Views: 324
Country flag
Did you lubricated it as part of the routine maintenance? The brushes look good. Did you check the fan belt for to too tight or too loose? Regulator points OK? I'd would have clean all electrical connections and coat with dielectric grease before taking the generator apart. Did the armature spin easily? Of course, now would be a good time to switch to an alternator if you have that inclination. Or put it back together and bring it to a shop that can test it. I would guess it is not the generator. They tend to free or burn. But that is only a guess.

EV2239

Jedi Warrior
The most likely issue is sticking brushes since there is no sign of any stress. I'd clean the brush holders, make sure they slide in and out easily and reassemble and test. I reckon it'll be okay.

Ash

BertVanBrande

Country flag