• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Photos of my outer sill repair

mightymidget

Jedi Knight
Decide since my $500.00 Midget was half way ready for the road as a daily driver I would get back on the Wifes Bugeye

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I had already stripped the metal from the car last winter during the spring box repair. This photo shows the wire loom I have place to run between the sills. I got the wire loom from NAPA and figured out a maxium of 8 wires would fit in the openings alowed. So I placed 8 wires in the loom and then I wrapped loom with Blsck tape. I wanted as many wires as possible to the rear. Tailights, brake light,left/right signal,gas gauge,fuel pump. this leaves me with two extra wires should I need them

OP
M

mightymidget

Jedi Knight

I made alot of the pieces that supported the rear corner of outer sill. This area as in many Bugeyes was completly rusted out. so I just tried to make the panel so they will look like originals.

The green stuff you are seeing is dynoglass. after I grind the welds smooth a apply a light coat to fill in all the pitts and such. Plus dynoglass is water proof. I wil let it dry for day then come back sand down and apply light skim coat of bondo

OP
M

mightymidget

Jedi Knight

I still need to repair the lower rear wing extention. Just have a hard time buying the part ($189.00. I have tried to make it but has many curves to it. I will try again,

The outer sills and end extentions I got from Moss where excellent

markberry

Jedi Trainee
mightymidget said: