• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

I'm an Austin Healy Newbie!

hundredsixinsf

Just purchased my first Austin Healey. It's a 1959 100-6 BN4. It's been sitting since '77, but amazingly it runs and drives. I can't get over how amazing the exhaust sounds! It is the best sounding sports car I've ever owned by far.

Anyway, it has a couple of issues that I need some assistance with. One is a clicking noise in first gear. I haven't driven the car more than a couple miles, but did notice that it seemed to go away once the car warmed up a bit. Or maybe just was a bit quieter. But it definitely clicks in first gear, when warming up. All other gears are fine. What could this be and is it typical of AH's? How much would it cost to get fixed? I'm thinking of purchasing a fully rebuilt transmission, but my 100-6 is matching numbers with it's original engine and transmission, so maybe best to just have mine rebuilt.

The next issue I've noticed is gas coming from the overflow pipe. The original carbs likely need to be rebuilt. Is it likely a bad needle and seat that's causing this gas overflow? The engine is running very rich.

Oh, another question, what size radial tires are correct and are available for my 100-6? Any particular brands that folks feel are best? I assume I still need tubes with radials? Do I need the wire wheel spokes "tuned"?

Thanks,
Steve the AH Newbie in San Francisco /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/savewave.gif

Country flag
Welcome to the forum.

The clicking noise may be a chipped tooth on a gear. This is not typical or normal.

[ QUOTE ]
Is it likely a bad needle and seat that's causing this gas overflow?

[/ QUOTE ]