• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Zenith Stromberg Carbs

77_MG_Midget

Jedi Trainee
Can anyone explain what is the purpose of the oil dampener on the carb? I've yet to find a good explaination on why the carb needs a dampener. Thanks!

AltaKnight

Jedi Knight
I'm no expert but I've fiddled with my ZS's a bit.
My understanding is that the dampers function is to slow down the opening and closing of the air valve.
Idea being that if it opens too quickly it will lean out the mixture in that intitial second or so before the venturi effect drags more fuel in, the result being a stalling or hesitating engine.
I think it has a similar effect to the carb throttle pump on other types of carbs that gives a quick spurt of fuel right down the throat when you hit the gas.
There are some real carb experts on this board. I'm sure they will respond with a better or more accurate explanation than this.

Geo Hahn

Yoda
Country flag
And because the oil creates the dampening by restraining movement of the piston (air valve) the weight of the oil selected changes the amount of dampening... e.g. heavier oil causes a slower reaction of the piston to an opening throttle.

The effect of the dampening is mainly relevant during acceleration.