• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A TR3 hard starting, but has been running ok

txtr3

Country flag
It was a beautiful day here in Dallas, a perfect day to take the TR3 out for a drive. Sadly, it wouldn't start. Quite depressing. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

I'm a relative novice when it comes to working on cars. I have a strong technical background, and understand the basic theory of how an engine works. But when it comes to the details, I just don't have a lot of experience.

I've searched through the forum, and found a few leads I'll try, but I thought I'd throw out the particular symptoms and see if y'all can provide some advice.

Symptoms:
-- Today, hit the start button and the engine turns over, but it never fires up; by the end of all my attempts to start it, the battery is very weak
-- About 3 weeks ago, it took a long time to start, sputtering a few times before it finally got going
-- Before that, it would usually take a little while to start (10-20 seconds), but I figured that was the time it took to fill up the float bowls (I didn't usually use the priming lever on the fuel pump). This slow starting was after it sat in the garage for at least 1, up to 6 weeks. This part seemed pretty normal.