• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

throttle shaft bushings

John Loftus

Darth Vader
I have an SU master kit for HS6 carbs (1.75") which includes standard size thottle shafts and bushings. The carbs I'm rebuilding currently have bushings. Did this type of carb original have bushings or were they only added during a rebuild? I'm wondering if I can remove the old bushings with a tap or EZ-out or if milling them out is the recommended way (not that precision milling and turning is a problem)? What do you think of the idea of replacing the metal bushings with delrin .. similar to the bushings for the HD8 carb? Seems like the brass throttle shafts wear quickly and having more compliant bush material would help in this area but there may be a downside. Opinions?

Cheers,
John

Keoke

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Hi John, they are original to the HD series carbs. The original bushes were a hard paper like material while the recent rebuild kits use 0.015" thick Tefelon. I am unaware of metal bushings except brass after market ones used by rebuilders when extreme wear in the housings would accur---Keoke??

OP
John Loftus

John Loftus

Darth Vader
Hi Keoke,