• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Spitfire Spitfire Engine Surge

doates

Hi Again,

I have been able to temporarily empty and seal my floats; hopefully until new ones arrive.

I have been fighting an engine surge (70 Spit) for a couple of months now. At idle it surges from 800 to 1000 rpm's every couple of seconds. It does not start surging until the engine gets hot. I have set timing to 6 degrees BTDC, adjusted carbs to their initial settings per Haynes and fiddled with them until it sounds like they are sucking the same amount of air (tube in ear) numerous times with no success. It starts great and idles well until it gets hot. When driving it around the neighborhood it seems to lack power and I can feel the surge (not as extreme as at idle). I have sprayed the carbs and all intake joints with carb cleaner and it does not cause a change in idle.

I just took my distributor apart and it looks pretty clean inside except that there are two different sized springs inside. Is this normal? Very little play in the shaft.

After only a couple hours of running the cap and rotor show some wear and crud build up on the terminals.

The plugs are slightly sooty but not extreme.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated

Thanks...Dennis

poolboy

Yoda
Country flag