• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Resto [almost] finished - first driving impressions

AHS

Country flag
After 18 months in the garage, I finally got to drive a TR3 for the first time 2 weeks ago. I'm new to TR's, so this is all a new experience for me. These are my newbie impressions:

-You guys weren't kidding when you said the steering was heavy!
-The car feels very solid, no need to avoid manhole covers like in a Sprite.
-Lots of bottom end grunt, like driving a V8 - but then not much after that.
-The brake squeal is the worst I've ever heard.
-I feel very tall driving the car, and I'm not. Eye level is almost to the top of the windshield, and I'm sitting in the lower of the 2 seats (the one with the reused old seat spring) with no wood spacers on the rails. I suppose it's something I'll need to get used to.
-It's got a funny little wiggle when getting on or off the throttle hard. It's not terribly disconcerting, but I think it has to be coming from the back end since there is nothing unusual happening getting on or off the brakes. I have rubber bushings all around, perhaps a leaf spring eye moving?