• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

New Front Hubs, Rotors and Bearings on BJ8

stever

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
I am about to install new hubs, brake rotors and wheel bearings to my phase II BJ8. As I have never done this before, I have a few questions regarding this activity. First is about the wheel bearing seal: Do you just slide this seal up onto the axle shaft and press it against the base? Or is it pressed into the hub body? Or, am I missing the whole thing? Note that the later BJ8's have a piece of metal that appears much like a bearing race that encircles the axle spindle and is flush against the axle stub assembly base to make a flat surface- this part is not in the Moss diagram (or at least I cannot find it).
Second question regards the bearing races. Is there any tricks to seating these races? The inner one looks simple enough but the outer one is way deep inside the outer part of the hub. I intend to fit the bearings, spacer and shims "dry" to determine the proper amount of shims and then dismantle and reassemble with grease. Any suggestions on this little project are very welcome. thanks in advance!

Jerry

Darth Vader
Gold
Country flag