• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Japanese gear box better?

TRnorwegian

I'm a rookie on the TR-arena, but I have noticed that some TR6'es seem to be fitted with gearboxes and/or differentials from Japanese cars.
Since I suspect my gear box will need much work (a grinding/scraping metallic sound occurs when accellerating), I wonder if it would be worth investigating alternative options rather than overhauling my excisting box (which BTW doesn't have OD).
Which treads can I follow to find out more about such modifications? Are these japanese boxes compatible with the original? Much work involved?

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
Opinions vary, here's mine.

The main advantage of the Japanese conversions is that it allows incorporation of an overdrive (5th) gear without the expense of sourcing and/or rebuilding an original overdrive.

The original boxes are not particularly fragile or troublesome; but after 25-50 years they are a bit 'tired'. Used parts in good condition are getting scarce (hence expensive) and new parts (when they are available) tend to be rather expensive due to the limited market for them.

By contrast, used examples of the Japanese version are plentiful and cheap.

There are 3 conversion paths that I know of :