• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Help identifying part

tortfeezor

Freshman Member
This is probably an easy question for you veterans, but I'm new to Midgets and new to this forum. I recently bought a '77 Midget.

There's a threaded opening approx. 1" in diameter on the lower part of the car's exhaust manifold, which points (more or less) toward the rear of the car. The problem is that there's nothing in that opening, so the car is ridiculously loud. I can't figure out what should be there, though.

Can anybody help me with this? I've attached a photo, in case it helps.

Secondly, can anyone suggest how I might plug up the opening as a short-term fix? Given the temperature of the exhaust manifold, I don't want to be too quick to implement a fix that might not be safe.

Thanks in advance,
Mike

Attachments

• 83267-1500manifold.jpg
    83267-1500manifold.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 143
OP
T

tortfeezor

Freshman Member
Thanks, Rob. I should have known that the hole was actually the GNDN (goes nowhere, does nothing) pipe.

But seriously, does anyone know the name or Moss part no (if any) of the threaded plug that Rob mentioned? I've studied the Moss catalog, my Haynes manual, etc. and I can't find any reference to it.

Salyers890