• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

First time installing a head on a 1275

cdsmith

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag
Well.. Sick of me yet?

The head is back from the machine shop, so I get to re-install the head - I've never done this before!

So I'm looking for some answers to what might be some dumb questions... (Note: it is a 1275 that is being worked on)

1st:
Valve train is held on by 4 head nuts and 4 smaller nuts, so should the torque setting be the same for all of them? If not, what should the torque setting be for the smaller nuts?

2nd:
I have been told to re-torque the head nuts after running it up to temp, and letting it cool down (and also do this again after about 500 miles). Now I have 2 questions; First question is when I re-torque the head nuts do I also re-torque the smaller nuts holding the valve train? Second question is when I re-torque the head do I back off the nuts 1/4 turn (1 flat) before I re-torque?

3rd:
Anything else??? Remember I've not done this before...
As always... Thanks a bunch!
CD

spritenut

Luke Skywalker
The smaller nuts on the rocker shaft should be torqued to 22 ft lbs. In sequence middle first and work outward 2-3-1-4 or 3-2-4-1.