• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Castrol Syntec 20w-50 no longer available ?

Ed_K

Jedi Knight
It is time for my annual oil and filter change. I have been using Castrol Syntec 20w-50 for the last two years and have liked the way it has performed. I had noticed that Walmart stopped stocking it several months ago and also noticed it was hard to find on the shelves at the local auto parts stores.
I searched the web today and found this posted on the Castrol web site ....
"
What is happening to Castrol SYNTEC 20W-50?
Castrol SYNTEC 20W-50 classic car formulation is being replaced by Castrol
with SYNTEC Power Technology 5W-50 viscosity grade. The 5W-50 grade
will also be specially formulated for classic car use and will adopt the 20W-50
claims – designed for use in classic cars. The 5W-50 formulation will contain
more zinc additives than the 20W-50 and will also enhance start up ability in
cold temperatures as well as enable better fuel economy "

Has anyone seen this 5w-50 Syntec on the shelves yet ?
Will the fact that it is 5w-50 instead of 20w-50 hurt the engines in our Healeys in any way ?

Ed

Keoke

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Will the fact that it is 5w-50 instead of 20w-50 hurt the engines in our Healeys in any way ?

Well ED: