• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Best Seat Belts option for Bugeye?

Boink

Yoda
Bronze
Country flag
My apologies if this has been beaten to death, but as a newbie I tried a search and didn't turn up much.

So I just acquired a restored '59 Bugeye and it does not have any seatbelts! Now THERE'S a stock car. :yesnod: Anyway, I guess I'm contemplating options. My first thought was to get a 3-point retractable system (such as at Moss for about $100 or on eBay for less but not as certain about adaptation), or a more vintage 2-point lap-belt affair. The car has no roll-bar.

I'd appreciate suggestions for: type, where to obtain and mounting recommendations. I saw a retractable unit with the coil system on the rear wheel well but wasn't sure about the other points. Also, I'm presuming that one can just drill holes and use larger fender washers. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks for reading and replying.
- Mark (in Portland, OR)

OP
Boink

Boink

Yoda
Bronze
Country flag
Re: Best Seat Belts option for Bugeye

Slightly embarrassing. I searched for "seat belt" as 2 words and now I see a post or two for "seatbelt." That written, I'll stand by those questions. Thanks.

smaceng

Jedi Knight
Country flag