• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

auto tranny

sp53

Yoda
Country flag
I am trying to install an auto tranny on a Saab 9000. This is my first time with an auto tranny. My problem now is I have the tranny going on a little crooked and one side needs to go on about 3/8 more and the other is flush with the engine towards the top. I tried pushing and prying, but I think it is in a bind. I am not sure what to do. I am afraid to just suck it on with the big guide bolts on the block. They do stick out about 3 inches and are about 7/16 and look like once you are on them just push the tranny on. I did a little, but I do not want to break anything. Perhaps that small input shaft thingie coming over the torque converter needs specific alignment. It did not look that way though. Any insight would be considered very helpful.
Steve

D

Deleted member 8987

The TC needs to be fully seated on most every auto trans I have ever seen.
You need to unload the snout on the end (lift it so it's neutral buoyancy), press into the trans lightly while spinning the TC slowly.
Most SAAB stories I had to work on over the years were stick shift, so not sure if the TC is different, but seen a whole lot of front pump damage caused by "sucking it down" without the TC being fully seated in the front pump.