• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

weber side draft carbs

bryan1970

Freshman Member
hey a newbie here with a newbie question. i herd that weber 45 doce have no vacume ports, manifold vacume nor port vacume. so what happens to vacume advance if a side draft carb was retrofitted to a car not originally having a weber?

thanks in advance

Darwin

Jedi Knight
Bronze
Country flag
Hey Bryan,
1st of all, welcome to BCF. The short and sweet answer is to simply plug off the vacuum advance port and run without it. You can drill and tap a port into the manifold but this isn't really the way to go. It is far better to get the dizzy recurved to run on just the centrifical advance.

piman

Darth Vader
Hello Brian,
the vacuum advance function is purely an economy device which allows the carburettor to be set up a bit leaner at cruise. Presumably you want to fit a Weber for performance and will be sacrificing economy. Just be aware that a side draught (DCOE) Weber will only have slight power gains at the high end of the rev range and may have worse driveability than the S.U.