• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR6 DIY TR-6 frame repair feasibility-

Bob_TR6

Country flag
OK, guys-I've been driving my 73 for a few years with a flexing frame--the door gaps open and close alarmingly while driving. I know that the trailing arm sections are pretty bad (there's a coupla pieces of (1/4") steel plate sandwiching the frame at the point that the trailing arms mount.), and I suspect that the area under the t-shirt is bad, too--that would explain most of the flex.

I see that the trailing arm sections (TRF lists them, Moss lists 'repair section'?) and the t-shirt plates (TRF, Moss) are available.

It's my intention to pull the body off the frame and see what's really going on.

So--Following along in Justin's thread The start of something big most of the work looks pretty straight forward--but is the trailing arm replacement equally straightforward? It looks like most of the frame is 'flat', so the replacement sections could be set up and verified, with a level, pretty easily.

Any thoughts, cautions, warnings?

Gliderman8

Great Pumpkin
Country flag