• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Fresh British car owner

lynfield66TR4A

Freshman Member
Hi Everyone, I am new to british cars, I recently inherited several cars. I will be asking stupid questions from time to time, so please bear with me. What is the proper way to use the overdrive? I have just driven the 4a for the first time and accidently mistook it for the blinker, what is the wrong way to use it? On the way home a mouse ran up my leg and out of the car as soon as I could stop it, are there wires that are especially tasty to mice that I should be looking at? I love this car because it was my brother's, but I am afraid of hurting it if I am not careful! Thank You.

Kurtis

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
Welcome! And nice instant collection (I just read your profile).

Mice can do considerable damage. I'm not sure about wiring, but I know for a fact that they like to enjoy building nests in the padded back seat flap piece on TR4s - using what ever they can manage to chew up to make the nest, so watch out! I've heard moth balls will keep them out of the car. I keep my cars in enclosed garages, and try to focus my efforts on keeping them out of the garages altogether.